Ok I concede

Smithers XKR

After many weeks of "gentle" persuation by my more knowledgable peers here I have finaly decided to spend some time trying to learn a bit of DAW.
I have always intended to try to learn both genres, my legacy outboard gear, my Atari and rack stuff like an old faithful, sorry for all the faults, just cant let it go.
So now I would like to try to start to learn with the DAW system.
Firstly I will tell you the things I know.
I have downloaded a free older version of Cakewalk, it looks ok and has a 16 track mixer.
I know that I will need a phantom power interface to run my condensor mikes.
Other than that is there any advice to help me to get started please as I am new to DAW.
Thanks 👍

After many weeks of "gentle" persuation by my more knowledgable peers here I have finaly decided to spend some time trying to learn a bit of DAW.
I have always intended to try to learn both genres, my legacy outboard gear, my Atari and rack stuff like an old faithful, sorry for all the faults, just cant let it go.
So now I would like to try to start to learn with the DAW system.
Firstly I will tell you the things I know.
I have downloaded a free older version of Cakewalk, it looks ok and has a 16 track mixer.
I know that I will need a phantom power interface to run my condensor mikes.
Other than that is there any advice to help me to get started please as I am new to DAW.
Thanks 👍
Welllllllll. and again this is just one dumbass's opinion who is a jack of all master of none kind of Homewrecker
Some questions before I advise.

What type of computer are you going to use Mac or PC?
How old is it?
How much are willing to invest $$$$ ( what's your budget ) to get tracks in the box?
How many tracks at a time will you be recording? the choices run from 2 stereo in and out to a hell of a lot with 20 to 32 tracks analog to digital / digital to analog (AD/DA) units available at under $2k maybe even under $1K