Mixing two MP3 files

Protomixer

Hi -- I am a noob, so please excuse my noobiness. I have two MP3 files (Windows), and I want to mix them by writing software. Do I have to first convert them to wave, or is there a better way to mix MP3? To convert to wave and back, I need a codec. Can anyone refer me to a basic C++ codec - greatly appreciated.

If this is the wrong question for this forum, I would appreciate to know where I can find a forum for codecs?

Thanks and any and all comments greatly appreciated.

Bromium

If you're trying to make a self-contained executable, it's going to need to include a codec no matter what you do - or at least have the ability to import one.
LAME is probably the best-known publicly usable library for processing MP3s

That said... does it need to be C++? You could do it all with FFMPEG and SoX pretty easily. (And with WSL on Windows, it's easily enough portable to all hardware)

Thinking about the other topic that was explained a little differently, I'm wondering if you've missed the point about mp3 files - For your purpose you probablt have no need for codecs and conversion, just a way to process the data stream header to leave the sync word intact and the other data the header contains, then the maths bit to creat the audio data stream, then you end up with a new mp3 containing the merged sources. That scares me totally as coding is something I know nothing about. You could convert the mp3 at some point, but why?