Marshall MG100HDFX/MG412 Slant Cab Half Stack Package

JoeyNukes

I'm a novice, like crappy teenage punk band level novice. So I'm looking for a decent loud amp that won't take me ten paychecks to buy. Is this the amp to buy?

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/prod...MG412-Slant-Cab-Half-Stack-Package?sku=482807

I've heard nice sounds from Marshall, a trustable brand as far as I know, and I wanna get rid of all my effects and such, because to me they all either sound fake or just not my style, too heavy, too everything, ya know?

So can somebody fill me in, is it a good deal? Is it of good~ish quality? Does the crunch channel sound good for a lightly distorted punk band?

I'm a novice, like crappy teenage punk band level novice. So I'm looking for a decent loud amp that won't take me ten paychecks to buy. Is this the amp to buy?

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/prod...MG412-Slant-Cab-Half-Stack-Package?sku=482807

I've heard nice sounds from Marshall, a trustable brand as far as I know, and I wanna get rid of all my effects and such, because to me they all either sound fake or just not my style, too heavy, too everything, ya know?

So can somebody fill me in, is it a good deal? Is it of good~ish quality? Does the crunch channel sound good for a lightly distorted punk band?

Ladies and gentlemen, the DFX hating Johnny C!!!!

*cue Johnny C*

Hey man, what's up? First off, do you REALLY need a 100 watt head and a 4 x 12 ? I'd say not. If you're playing a gig that needs 100 watts of power, they'll have a P.A system, and you could just mic up a small amp and go through that.

I gotta be honest, I think a DFX sounds just fine for alot of beginners, but it's an entry level amp. If you put 100 Watts through an entry-level circuit, it'll sound loud but not necessarily good.

For $600-700 I'd check these guys out

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Vox-AC15CC1-Custom-Classic-1x12-Tube-Amp?sku=482625
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Peavey-Windsor-HalfStack?sku=485059