Lesser of 2 evils...DMP3 or Presonus Blue Tube

TheNewUnknown

Don't be a Pro Tool.
Hey, I'm a college student with barely enough money for ramen noodles, let alone a great Preamp. I have a Digi002 rack (with 4 built-in pre amps) but need another pre or 2...
I'm trying to decide between the DMP3 or Presonus Blue Tube.
The DMP3 goes for around $160 new and I found an older Blue Tube for $100 used (or 199 new).
Which would be the better buy?
Or is there anything else around that price range that might be just as good?
Someone told me to check out the ADA8000 for another 8 pre's but I don't really know how good quality that is :confused: .
Any help is appreciated!

I own a DMP-3 but have never used the presonus unit.

My experience of budget pres that try and sound like tube pres is not good though so I'd recommend the DMP-3. At that price point you're really beter off going with 'nice and clean' rather than trying to get anything funky sounding.

I dunno, the budget tube pres aren't the holy grail, but they have an interesting trick or two. Given that you can usually dial the tube out of the sound entirely, I think I'd lean towards the used BlueTube, just because it's cheaper, and the DMP probably doesn't sound much different than the 002.

I own the dmp3 and owned the blue tube, hands down the dmp3, much quieter pre amp. The dmp3 is probably one of the few cheap pre's that I'll actually keep around.

brandrum said:
does replacing the tubes in these things improve the sound enough to justify the price of the tubes?

Not really, its a starved plate design. When I had mine I never dialed in the tube "noise" as I call it.

DMP-3 is a good pre, better than it's price, way better than it's price per channel. But what it's good at is clean gain x2, and it doesn't have "character". I love it for stereo micing acoustic instruments. Vocals....... not so much. For that I like a more colored pre, but that's just me.