Is it clipping? How to fix it without redoing everything?

athrun200

I rush through the recording yesterday hoping that I could finish it by yesterday.
But when I do the mixing today, I discover that there are some clippings in the climax part of the harmonica audio.

How do I fix it without recording everything? I have tried to re-recording the clipping section only but it results in an imbalance of volume between the introduction part and climax part of the music.

Can I just tune the voice of everything down to prevent clipping?

I am new to Albeton 9 lite, I have attached mp3 and the screen shot in which the clippings occur.

Attachments

• ??.JPG
    ??.JPG
    129.7 KB · Views: 198
Hi there.
There's nothing in that picture to tell you whether the recorded audio is clipped or not.
The visual waveforms can be zoomed and adjusted so they're not a reliable indicator.

While you were tracking you should have kept an eye on any peak/clip indicators that your preamp/interface has.
Also, assuming everything's at unity and you're not using any plugs yet, keep an eye on the meters in your DAW too.

If you play back your session now with the faders at unity and all effects bypassed, do the track show overs?
If so you've made a mistake and you're stuck with it, I'm afraid.

Whether it's audible or not is a different story so you might be able to just carry on, but just be aware in future. ;)
Does your DAW have a gain level that's pre effects+fader?

Does your DAW have a gain level that's pre effects+fader?

I am not sure what is the meaning of "gain level that's pre effects+fader?"
I think there is no pre effects by scarlett 2i2 in which I am using.

I was busy looking at the score when recording, didn't notice the meter or else at all. Maybe I should memorize the score next time.
Thanks for you advice!

On a lot of DAW's, you can toggle between whether the metering is pre or post.