impulses and amp simulators

makariuss

hey guys im new in recording can anyone explain me if you really need this in your recording or how it works??
i have a line 6 toneport ux2 and i haven't tryied micing my amp , my recordings are all direct into it. ..

I've recorded plenty of amplifiers with IRs. I typically take a line from the effects loop out into a line in, then load IRs into something like Mellowmuse's IR1A (50 buck plugin). If you're doing this with a tube amp though, you need to keep a load on the speaker output, either with a load box, or simply keeping it plugged into a cabinet.

what i mean is what are impulses and amp simulator for???? cause all i know and the way i record is my line 6 toneport ux2 and the podfarm

what i mean is what are impulses and amp simulator for???? cause all i know and the way i record is my line 6 toneport ux2 and the podfarm

So you have been recording direct with amp simulators but you don't know what they are for?

:D

You're going to have to explain yourself a little better. We still don't know what you are really asking.

So you say you have a toneport that you record with (which is an amp simulator)...but then you ask what are impulses and amp simulators needed for....huh?
If you can be a little more clearer...somenone will have an answer for you.

Are you asking about the difference between a hardware sim (toneport) and software sims (plugs)...?
If that's what you are asking...there is NO difference (other than how each sounds to you), 'cuz it's all the same thing...they are digital simulations/models of real amp tones. Even your toneport has software inside it.

toneport is not an amp sim, its an audio interface...pod farm is the software it uses and has to be hosted on a PC

download pod farm from the Line 6 website, the toneport will act as a dongle so you can register it

Pod Farm does not allow cabinet impulses to be used within its software