Higher end preamp decisions

Strave

Looking to upgrade my pres with my best being the brick and I'm willing to spend maybe $1500... do you think it'd be worth it to blow it all on the neve portico or better to split up the price of the neve($1500 or so) and go with a joe meek twinQ($700-800) and the sytek 4 channel deal($700-800).

You're going to ask me what I need... I want to take my pres to the next level... if the neve is so beautiful sounding that it's worth using the firepod pres as my cleans, so be it... otherwise I'd rather split it up and have some versatility (some outboard eq and compression is considered more versatility here...). Basically I'm asking... are two channels of portico preamp most certainly better and more likely to contribute to professional results than two channels of meek preamp, eq, compressor, and converters and 4 channels of sweet sytek cleanness.

Thanks.

Though I have no experience with either of those, I have learned one lesson. Get the best gear that you can and buildup from there, you are young and have lots of time to build up your studio so buy the gear that you will be happy with years down the road. What are you recording into? You can definitely go without an outboard EQ and probably live without an outboard compressor as long as you have some good software pulgins.

By the way, Im in La Jolla also, I graduated from UCSD a couple years ago. Ive got a pretty good setup at home as well, running protools. If you have any interest in collaborating, sharing techniques etc. Let me know.

Sounds good man... I'm leaving for a week tomorrow but I'll be back next friday... I'll shoot you a PM when I get back and we'll meet up. It's always nice to meet someone who speaks this language.