Help needed....Im an extreme beginner with a simple problem, i think....

turnerkj

I just bought a H4n and have been successfully recording tracks (In MTR Mode)...mixing in Acid Music 2.0 program and burning them to cd....quality is good......the issue is one that im sure gets asked here alot from amatuers....when i put the cd in my car...u have to crank the volume up load to get to a comfortable listening level....When im recording i have the input levels up as high as i can without clipping and when i mix it in Acid music i pull up the line and master levels up in the same fashion...Is this just something i must deal with or is there a trick some of you real recording artists know that i dont....???

Thank s

Yep. One of the most frequently asked questions.

The reason commercial CD's are louder is because the tracks have been mastered.

You want to put a limiter on the Mastering track.

OK....so im guessing with this little acid music program i have ...i might be limited as to what i can do with this issue....I may look into playing around with it in the cubebase software that came with it...( I gave up quick on it....complicated...) I guess i can put a limiter on the master track in cubebase.....

Dude..... Cubase is a very powerful DAW. You could do so much with it. I would try learning it man. Start with simple stuff like arming tracks and recording. It would only take one 10 minute watch of a video on Youtube.

1.) Its not the program 2.) you DO NOT just slap on a limiter on the master track. 3.) You do not need to learn Cubase to master a track or to have a better Mastered track, cubase isnt even a mastering software (not saying you cant master with cubase Im saying you dont need it) Turnerkj, No program or DAW is bad its just some are more intuitive than others. My producer who does alot of work for high profile artist uses Acid Pro. If you WANT more options or WANT more tools to enhance your mix then you can look at another DAW.