Having trouble setting up my new interface (no sound from monitors or headphones)

WesternHaikus1

Alright guys, I feel like a total noob, and am a little overwhelmed here haha.

I've just gotten a Tascam US-800, like numerous people have lately I think since they've gone on sale, as my first USB audio interface. Along with it, I got some M-Audio BX5a's, the MXL 990/991 microphone package, and some headphones and cables for everything.

I successfully installed and registered both the US-800 driver (latest from tascam website) and Cubase LE 5. As far as I can tell, I have the drivers and stuff correctly set up following the instructions in the tascam user manual. When I go into Windows control panel and the sound settings with the US-800 plugged in, the playback is set to US-800 and the recording "microphone" is set to the US-800, so everything looks good on that end. Upon opening the Tascam control panel/mixer, the driver version reflects the latest one I just installed.

I connected the interface via USB and plugged in the AC power, and both the USB and Power indicator lights are lit up on the interface. I plugged my two BX5's into the back of the mixer into the indicated RCA connectors as directed by the manual via some Monster TRS to RCA cables I got. I also plugged in my Audio Technica headphones into the front headphone jack on the interface.

When opening Cubase, I followed some instructions in the manual to "set up my device" to make sure the VST audio system is set from the ASIO driver to the Tascam US-800.

Now, I plugged the MXL 991 Mic into the first instrument spot, enabled the phantom power, and created a new mono track in Cubase. After pressing record, I tapped the end of the mic to see if I was getting a signal. It appears I was, as the visual wave as the track recorded fluctuated slightly. I also went into the digital mixer and checked the Mic/Inst 1 input and tapped the microphone and the bar fluctuated, showing a signal.