Fostex Reel to Reels

warartistrecord

I've been recording for a few years in the digital realm and have recently been very interested in getting into analog recording. On ebay I've seen a bunch of Fostex 8 tracks going for pretty cheap. I'm wondering if they are a good quality tape machine for someone starting in analog?

Hello warartistrecord,

I can't speak for the eight track units. But Fostex as a whole I've found to be a very robust mfg. I have previously owned a G16S (the S for S Dolby). An E-(22) the 1/2 tape version of the more common E-2, A 820 mixing board, A 16 channel board, A 2016 line mixer. Synchronizers and controllers. I still have a pair of the 6301B personal monitors.

All I have found to be great stuff. Is there better..yes. Is there worse..absolutely!

I have no reason to believe any of their other products are different. they are affordable and still plentiful. Parts are avail. on ebay too!

but, keep in mind. With a Multi-track tape machine you will need an (interface) otherwise known as a mixer. You wont be able to just plug in your headphones to monitor. And you will need tape, head cleaner, De-magnatizer for the heads, Cable/snake, at least two x8. One going in, and another coming from.

It is a lot of fun tho!:thumbs up:

Ron

Hello warartistrecord,

I can't speak for the eight track units. But Fostex as a whole I've found to be a very robust mfg. I have previously owned a G16S (the S for S Dolby). An E-(22) the 1/2 tape version of the more common E-2, A 820 mixing board, A 16 channel board, A 2016 line mixer. Synchronizers and controllers. I still have a pair of the 6301B personal monitors.

All I have found to be great stuff. Is there better..yes. Is there worse..absolutely!

Agree with Ron here. A Fostex R8 paired up with a Fostex 812 is a very good mixing/recording combo to work with. Have been using this combo a lot and never really given me any trouble.