Do you write or study poetry?

lotuscent

Before I was a songwriter, I studied poetry in a pretty hardcore fashion. I workshopped with some very well known poets, filled notebook after notebook over a period of about five years.
I was encouraged by one poet in particular to get an MFA - she really like my work.

During that time I was also a musician, more of a player and somewhat composer but a totally lousy songwriter. I regarded most song lyrics as trite, cliche garbage most of the time, crap for the masses turned out by barely literate hacks... funny how at the time I coudn't songwrite out of a paper bag.

For years after that I struggled with my notions of good writing and applying them to a songwriting context. Musical considerations always seemed to compromise my verbal aims, and my poeticism always seems out of place in the musical realm.

I have recently been able to produce results that satisfy both my musical and poetic senses, but it has been a long struggle.

Do any of you out there pursue writing or poetry by itself? Has it helped or hindered your songwriting?

peace.

poetry and lyric writing are VERY far apart IMO.....poetry lends itself more to the written word and is allowed more "poetic license" to use alot of fancy smancy imagery......songwriting has to be clear and to the point, letting the listening get your point in one hearing......myself, poetry just isnt in my bag and i would find it hard to go between the two......

Gidge said:
poetry and lyric writing are VERY far apart IMO.....poetry lends itself more to the written word and is allowed more "poetic license" to use alot of fancy smancy imagery......songwriting has to be clear and to the point, letting the listening get your point in one hearing......myself, poetry just isnt in my bag and i would find it hard to go between the two......

I agree,