Definition of Professional Musician

Ed Dixon

To help settle a local discussion, what would others here consider a definition for a professional musician (like bass, guitar, keyboard, singer, drummer, etc).

What other categories of musicians would also be normally recognized that would be one or more notches below that of a professional?

Ed

i heard from someone a year or so ago that if you've been paid for playing music, then you are a professional musician. that may or may not be true.

I would think that if one gets paid to perform music, that makes one a professional musician.

I would label myself as one if the earnings from playing contributed some noticeable amount to my overall earnings. So I have been a professional musician in the past, but I would not call myself one now.

My thoughts are along the following lines:

1. Professional - One who makes the vast majority of their income from performing music. Example: studio musician, touring band member, pop star, etc.

2. Semi-pro. One who occasionally gets paid on a fairly regular basis to play, but that the majority of their income is from other sources. Example: Weekend band member and gig player with a full time day job.

4. Performer. One who plays in public on a regular basis, but rarely is $ involved. Example: HS band member, church band member, club live mic performer.

5. Hobbist. One who plays mostly at home, rarely plays in public, and rarely is any $ involved.

Ed

Ed Dixon said:

1. Professional - One who makes the vast majority of their income from performing music. Example: studio musician, touring band member, pop star, etc.

2. Semi-pro. One who occasionally gets paid on a fairly regular basis to play, but that the majority of their income is from other sources. Example: Weekend band member and gig player with a full time day job.

4. Performer. One who plays in public on a regular basis, but rarely is $ involved. Example: HS band member, church band member, club live mic performer.