crap budget vocals

bendbones

Hi all,

I have a track I've been working on, but the vocals sounds really shit. Basically my recording chain is as follows (and I'm a student so can't afford so much).

Guitar / vocal mic into roland vs840 (I use this as a preamp). Headphone output of vs840 into soundcard on mac

Record in logic express

Mixdown

So I only had a really crap shure bg1.1 for the vocals, and they sound really appaling. So bar getting a more expensive mic / preamp /recording interface, does anybody know how I might warm up the vocals/make them sound nicer? Perhaps there is some plugin that I don't know about?

Thanks,
Ben.

you can't polish a turd. you need to make adjustments at the source and get that working first.

a good singer in a good room into a decent mic is the first step. that said you can get good results without spending a whole lot you just need the right tool for the job.

Hi Bendbones,
The music's got something going for it and is pretty well played, but you're right, that vocal doesn't sound right at all. Maybe your voice just doesn't suit it and there's nothing you can do about it! Or, maybe you need to try to sing in a lower tone or something. At the moment the voice is sounding too tinny and raspy, or nasally even.

Without going and buying a new mic, maybe you should simply experiment with different ways of singing – you know, let yourself go a bit and see what happens, that way you might just hit on a new personal vocal style that does happen to suit this track. If not, then get someone else to sing or turn it into an instrumental.

Dreamer ;)

Before you get someone else to sing it (and if you do, that's okay--I do the same thing), I'd get the vocal track back to bare bones so you/we can see what you really have.