Cover Song question...

powderfinger

Hey guys...quick question.

I'm putting together a website where I will be offering a lot of my music for free, possibly w/ a short EP for sale, but for the most part, the music is going to be free.

In addition to originals, I've recorded a few covers that I'd like to make available. I have no intention of selling them, thus I don't know if need to obtain rights.

Is it legal to distribute covers w/o obtaining liscenses if I am not selling them?

Any help would be great. Thanks.

You can until the author of the song contacts you and says he/she/they don't want it on your website. As long as you are not selling it you can release a cover, you have copyright over the sound recording itself, not the song... but you don't need to contact the author, you can cover it and release it for free as long as they don't say you can't. I'm no lawyer, but that is my understanding of copyright law.

Legally, you must obtain a mechanical license to record a cover, regardless of whether you intend to sell it or not. In the US, most of these can be handled by the Harry Fox Agency. They will handle obtaining the license for a small fee. It's a set fee for up to 2500 copies, I think.

scrubs said:
Legally, you must obtain a mechanical license to record a cover, regardless of whether you intend to sell it or not. In the US, most of these can be handled by the Harry Fox Agency. They will handle obtaining the license for a small fee. It's a set fee for up to 2500 copies, I think.

What if this is online only though? In other words...no physical copies. Is a download considered a copy?

powderfinger said:
What if this is online only though? In other words...no physical copies. Is a download considered a copy?