Cheap But Good Acoustic Guitar Recomendations?

powerbob247

Hi There,

I'm new to home recording so was wondering if anyone knew of any good but cheap (£150 max) acoustic guitars? I'm looking to record some songs and mic the guitar up through my M Audio Nova Microphone.

Any recomendations would be appreciated

Many Thanks

Not sure what Seagulls are selling for in the UK, but if they fit your budget, they are a great value and very good instruments.

there's this brand Mitchell. i've got one that i bought in 2006 for $200 ..it's got the cutaway so i can get high up on the fretboard, and it's got an onboard preamp so you can plug it in. not bad!

What is your budget? And what style of acoustic music are you looking to record? A little more info and we might be able to suggest something that applies to your needs.

I played a number of guitars in this price range at GC the other day. I didn't like the Yamaha sound at all, which leads me to this point - go play some guitars and find one that you like the sound of and "feels" good to your hands. Don't buy it, just go home, sign on and ask us about this brand/model and do some research.

The others gave an assortment of vague reasons. I thought there might have been something specific about Seagulls.

OK I'll be vague and refer you to my first response in this thread.

These types of thread are meaningless. There is no "good" or "cheap" they are subjective terms.

I wouldn't buy a guitar for £150 and expect it to be anything but cheap. On a half decent entry level acoustic guitar the materials alone will set you back at least that. I wouldn't buy a Seagull for that money or any of the others. I would look to the second hand market. Probably Yamaha, something like an old FG340.

Now can you tell me what the best mic is for under $100. I do mostly Country style Rap, or Crap as it is known.

OK I'll be vague and refer you to my first response in this thread.