Buying New Equipment

Carl

I am a student musician who records that the band that I am in. In my Basement I have
2 AKG C1000S Microphones
1 Shure SM57
1 Shure BG Vocal Mic
Tascam Porta 02

I need some advice on getting new equipment.
Should I invest in a new combined Mixer/ recorder. Or Buy a seperate Mixer and recorder. I would like to have more production on my recordings like EQ and such.
Does anyone have any suggestions on where to start? My Budget is probably from 600 to 800 dollars.

Any help would be very appreciated
Thank You
Carl

I really don't know the costs, but I think you'd be off well enough to buy a Roland digital mixer/recorder. Or if you have a nice computer, you could go that route. But I don't really know the min. cost of that route either; sorry.

I agree with the Recording Engineers' recommendation with regard to the Roland digital mixer/recorder. Models 840EX & 880EX offer alot of bang for the buck. A word of caution... you are accustomed to listening to analog recordings as opposed to digital. While the aforementioned Roland units sound quite good (digitally speaking), they still produce the harsh sound inherent with the digital format. Warming up digital recordings is an entirely different subject and one which I eagerly await reading about. I made the jump from a Tascam 38 to a PC based system and really miss the warmth from analog. Of all the digital mixer/recorder units I tested, the Roland 880 is at the top of the list all things consisdered. Although it exceeds your budget limitations it's worth saving for. Good luck!

"Harshness" or digital? "Warmth" of analog??? Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, I don't know Lambo, I think you are falling for the same crap to describe two different sound that the old analog guys who are worried about digital recording taking all their business away.

Feel free to go to my website and check out an essay that I wrote comparing analog and digital. www.echostarstudio.com/Info.html