Bit of a dilema

billabob

Hey, im still pretty new to recording and have been using a md421 mic to mic an amp then to an m audio box strait into my pc to reaper. However i recently have got my hands on a imac and was thinking of upgrading my mbox to a mackie onxy 1620i so i can have more inputs and firewire capability.

My question is should i get this package Which includes pro tools:

http://www.dv247.com/computer-hardware/mackie-onyx-1620i-and-avid-m-powered-pro-tools--74873

Or just buy the mackie 1620i and keep using reaper?

Also ive been looking into getting a decent mic pre amp,all the ones ive looked at where stupidly expensive. anyone got any ideas of a decent one that doesn't cost £3k?

xxx

Last edited:
hey man..

that seems like a helluva lot of money for someone who's not too sure.

have you any reason to want to jump to protools? if you don't i'd say bin it. (i'm a PT user)

also,,,not sayin anything bad about the onyx,,,but do you need mixer capabilites?

unless you've got a really fancy desirable console, mixing's usually done in the computer, so, my two cents is, save a fortune and get an 8 channel firewire interface.. (presonus fp10)
or spend the same money, but get a really nice one....

i don't know your skill or knowledge level, but i guess you don't need a 'dececnt mic pre'.

unless you actually want a seperate one for a different colour or something, there are 8 in the onyx that would have done just fine,

and the same goes for many other 8 channel interfaces like fp10/octopre etc

hope thats a gd start for ya :)

no i havent got any reason to switch other than a few mates telling me pro tools is the way to go.

i suppose i could get an interface, i just thought the sound s quality would be better through a proper mixer would it not?

Also its the same mates telling me that ill need to get a better mic pre amp to get a more professional sounding recordings.