Another song I'm too close too...

Farview

I'm just wanting to finish and archive listenable versions of some songs from my old band. The problem is, I've been listening to the scratch mixes for going on 10 years and I'm having a hard time hearing them any other way. I could use some help.

Her Demise

Vocals up a couple? Also the kick (sample?) is a bit flap happy. Works OK in the doubled part but could be less prominent elsewhere

Kick drum is too loud, guitars are too loud, vocal is too soft. Snare sounds woody and low. Can't hear the cymbals much at all. Most of the problems seem to be with the drums.

Post them in the "mix this" forum. I'd try it out.

Played with the kick, turned down the guitars 2db. That snare drum just sounds like that. You wouldn't believe how much 2k and 8k I'm adding to it to brighten it up.
Her Demise 2

That opening guitar sounds pretty nasty by itself. Once the drums and bass kick in, it's a good heavy sound. The relationship between the bass and guitars is right on. Problem is, it's so overpowering that it doesn't leave space for your vocal. My suggestion would be to lower the guitars during the vocals, then bring them back in for effect.

Edit: Comments above refer to your first version. The second one is a step in the wrong direction, for me. The bass now sounds boomy, and there is still no room for the vocal.

Second mix is better. The bass guitar is fuckin thundering dude. Tame that shit. The rhythm guitars are pretty outrageous too. Lots of low mids in them which leads to a thick mix but I think it's all conspiring to kill the drums and vocals.

I really hate the vocals and don't want to hear them, but for the mix's sake I think they should be up more still.