2 Overheads and 1 Snare Mic Make This

BRX rad

Hey Guys,

Since my band is deciding to get back together, which means making another album, I decided that since I got my new kit (Pearl Masters BRX), I should go back beforehand to get it sounding good on recordings so that when the time comes, we're ready to rock and roll. Let me just say, it took a lot of adjusting from the settings I had saved from recording my Export kit - totally different sound. So here's the deal...

In case you don't know, the way I record is simple. I use Garageband on my Macbook Pro because I don't have any other recording software. Therefore, all I do is plug my mics into my mixer board, and run the outputs of the mixer board directly into the line-in jack of my laptop. Not the best, I know, but it's all I have, and I try to make everything sound decent on one track.

The mics I used here were 2 Audio Technica 2020's as overheads, and one SM57 on the snare. I would have used a kick mic, but my PG-52 took a crap on me, so I just ordered a new Shure Beta 52A today :D So just take note, THERE IS NO KICK DRUM MIC IN THIS RECORDING!!! When it gets here next week, I'll do another recording with the new kick mic mixed in.

I just got these overheads yesterday, and I must say for how cheap they were, I'm very happy with them. They pick everything (except the toms maybe...) up nicely, especially the cymbals. A few of you may remember me starting a thread asking what overheads I could buy for under $150, well I found these for $60 brand new on eBay!!! :D

Let me know what you guys think. Again, this is with just 2 overheads and a snare mic, so don't mind the crappy, off-in-the-distance kick sound. I think once I get the new kick mic mixed in, it'll sound rockin :cool:

Thanks!

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page_music.cfm?bandID=756906