Start out with a head ache

timmer1112

So for a while now I have been working with electronic music (took a class in school and fell in love with DAW software and the whole field of music)

I am a classical vocalist by trade, and figured that I should pick up a mic and power supply to start recording my self into electronic tracks and work on boosting my classical recording portfolio with midi accompanied recordings and the like.

Much to my happiness my old musicianship teacher decided to purchase a Neummann u87 for the school's recording studio. (As a music charter we have around 40k invested into small recording studio for the students.) Because he picked up the new mic for the school and because I asked nicely he sold me the TLM 103 we have had for only a couple of years for pennies on the dollar.

I was so excited to get my hands on it. However, I had the issue of a beautiful mic that I had used several times at school to make beautiful recordings with, but no set up to use it.

So obviously I ran down to my local Guitar Center and starting finding out a way to interface it with my laptop. When I got home is where I ran into some seriously depressing issues.

I needed an inexpensive way of interfacing (I spent most of my money on the mic) and the helpful staff set me up with the Blue Icicle as an easy way of interfacing my components until I had the money to invest in a real preamp interface and mixer station.