How to get more volume?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vigo

So im at this state where i want the mix to sound good but be loud enough too, my problem is that i feel like its squashed when i raise it too much I added a compressor so i could work it out a little bit but i dont want to ruin the signal so what other options could I have? im a total noob at mastering im guessing it'll be mostly dynamic working?

I think a lot of what you'll be able to do volume-wise comes down to the tracking. Where was it tracked? 0db? -10db? -20db?

Tracking too hot eats up the headroom you need at mastering.

Also subtractive EQ is your friend during the mix stage.

so what other options could I have?

As DogBreath is saying your options really come during tracking, at this point all you can do is some EQ and Limiting. You can add some focus and clarity if you have gear that will operate in Mid/Side. You can do other things like stereo widening and tape and tube saturations, but you should know what your doing with them and they don't add volume.

Where is the mix peaking at now before processing ? and how does it sound with nothing on it ?

Tracking too hot eats up the headroom you need at mastering.

I'm no mastering expert, but I'm fairly certain that's not true, and would depend on where your faders are during mix down as opposed to tracking level.

If you track too hot, just pull all the faders down and your digital headroom is back. Simple as that.

I'm no mastering expert, but I'm fairly certain that's not true, and would depend on where your faders are during mix down as opposed to tracking level.

If you track too hot, just pull all the faders down and your digital headroom is back. Simple as that.