Cubase LE limitations

chrisredding

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone here has felt restricted by LE at all?

I have studied the version comparison PDF a few times over the past 6 months and I reckon Cubase SL is all I would ever need. Advanced notation and surround mixing aren't things I'm interested in, hence ruling out SX. And Cubase SE seemed like it could be a bit limiting in terms of track count/inserts/VSTs than SL. But now I've got LE (for free) I'm pretty sure I could achieve anything I want with it. I also suspect that the limitations LE imposes could very well be a good thing, forcing me to be creative with the solutions I develop.

I'm not a complete novice either. I've been using Notator for the ST for 10 years+ and used Nuendo at college. So I feel I know a fair bit about the full 'toolkit' that is available in more advanced software.

I'm not sure what the point of this post is, or if it's even got one. I'm just thinking out loud. I know it reads like a bloke trying to justify not spending £250 on some software, but, once I've bought Reason, probably the next peice of software on my list is Cubase SL... Confused

Cheers

Chris

if SE is working for you, why spend money on something else? The question should be, "Do YOU feel limited by SE?".

Last edited:
Only thing it's limited me on so far is just the limit of 4 tracks at a time recording.. Screwy thing to give you with a 16 channel recording mixer if ya ask me...

--
Rob

yea, but you gotta remember it's free. it's way better than nothing, which is what alot of interfaces come with. hell, when I bought my 1010LT, it came with ableton live lite, which never even worked! it said my registration number was'nt corret and m-audio claimed that there was nothing they could do.

Posted by Crash ©
Only thing it's limited me on so far is just the limit of 4 tracks at a time recording..