To Choose a DP-24

Be nice guys, it's all personal preference, and very subjective. Everyone has different experiences with gear. Now, my question. The combo inputs are XLR/1/4" TRS. When you want to say record a steteo backing track to two tracks, and you have two TS 1/4" outs, can you use TS in the inputs? If not, how could you record the tracks in stereo? If you combined the two outs with a TRS adapter, routing say input A to a stereo track, it would still be mono, wouldn't it? I'm new to this stuff, but "get" it when explained. A little help!!!
Thanks, Keith

Be nice guys, it's all personal preference, and very subjective. Everyone has different experiences with gear. Now, my question. The combo inputs are XLR/1/4" TRS. When you want to say record a steteo backing track to two tracks, and you have two TS 1/4" outs, can you use TS in the inputs? If not, how could you record the tracks in stereo? If you combined the two outs with a TRS adapter, routing say input A to a stereo track, it would still be mono, wouldn't it? I'm new to this stuff, but "get" it when explained. A little help!!!
Thanks, Keith
You'd want to use two TS (one each, L and R) from the device to two inputs on the DP-24. You would assign one input to the L track and the other to the R track. For example, I have a keyboard ... I take the Left to input G, Right to input H, then assign input G to track 23, input H to track 24. The DP-24 assembles this into a stereo track internally, the result being stereo track 23/24. You could use TRS cables if you wanted, it wouldn't make any difference in how things are input and assigned, though.