Zoom H4N room/mixing techniques for vocals:

MEvansMusic

Hi everyone,

This is my first post. I've been browsing around these parts for awhile now and have finally decided to join. Anyways, I just wanted to get some feedback on an issue I've been having when it comes to recording vocals.

So my setup is as follows: I use an Audio-Technica microphone lined in with a Zoom H4N recorder. I typically use the MTR function and plug in my guitar as well. Anyway, the problem is a little more complicated. In the past I've recorded a few covers: mostly electronic/acoustic mixes, but I can never get the vocals to sound quite right. Their typically in key, I don't usually have a problem with that--but the vocals sound way less "professional" than the rest of the mix. I've had some experience with Pro Tools 10/11 and have a pretty good idea on how to create a "professional" sounding mix, but no matter what I do, the result is the same: weak vocals, but not off key--they just sound wrong I guess.

It's kind of a broad scenario, but I'm just looking for some insider tips and ideas on what might be going on. I record the vocals in the zoom h4n without any preamps (zoom h4n preamps are kind of terrible), in my bedroom (yeah I know). And that might be the problem. I sing live and it sounds fine. I record takes and it sounds fine. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to connect my Zoom interface with pro tools 11 (I know Avid is a big **** about third party software, etc). I import the audio into pro tools, but the vocals just sound unprofessional. I throw some compression in and have been toying around with EQ settings, delays, reverbs, chorus effects, etc, to no avail.

Cliffs:
-Recording bedroom vocals via Audio-Technica 2035 mic/Zoom H4n recorder. (No preamps)
-Vocals sound fine live with acoustic mixes.
-Create "professional" (ish) sounding mixes via Pro Tools 11, all is good.