Yamaha DTX vs. Roland TD-8, TD-10

RobertPhilbeck

Hello all,
Ive been drumming for about 6 months now, and I think im ready to move away from the DTX. I have to stick with digital drums cause I live in an apt. The rubber pads just dont cut it for me anymore, and Im finding fewer and fewer of the sounds to be useful in the DTX module(I only care about acoustic kit sounds).
I played The V-Custom, and V-Pro this weekend, but it was very difficult to critique the tones because of the millions of things going on at guitar center! I really love the way the mesh drum heads feel, and now that Ive played them I have to have them.
So I may upgrade my Yamahas to the Pintech heads, but if the module is worth the extra cash I may just sell the DTX, and get the V-Drums!
So, In your experianced opinion, are the tonal qualities of the Roland modules so much better than the DTX that it would be worth the cash to upgrade, or is the difference minimal?

The top-of-the-range Roland sounds are better than the DTX - but only slightly. If you got bored of the DTX sounds - you'll soon get bored of the Roland V-drums sound. The thing is, you're looking for tonal variation each time you hit a drum. You miss the power, warmth, resonance etc. of real drums. That just won't happen on an e-kit.

Sure, playing mesh pads feels nice after rubber, but soon becomes tiresome because you lose some of the "bounce" and your flams and doubles become harder to pull off.

Like all electronic musical equipment, the novelty soon wears off and the sound quickly dates. The only thing you have left is your ability - and that is the most important thing. A great drummer will make any kit he's playing sound good. I once had the benefit of hearing Jon Hiseman (Colliseum) playing on some pan lids and hardback books with his hands. It blew me away.

My advice - save your money and work on your technique. No-one is as good as they want to be...

Very well put, nubius. I agree, totally. Nothing beats good technique!