writing in different keys

luckicharm

ok...my question is a little hard to put into words but ill try...

im new to piano, but ive picked it up very quickly. i understand the key signatures and chords and all that...basically i get the basics of songwriting on the piano. what im having trouble with is writing in different keys and how to decide which key to write in.

of course i started playing in the easy key of C. how did all of you learn to write in the different chords and do you decide your key before you write the song or after?

Writing in different keys is dependant on many factors. Certainly one key factor is a consideration of vocals. If you're writing for vocals you must consider the key that works best for the vocalist.

Another consideration iinvolves technique. As you've already indicated, C can be a very simple key if you stick to a I-IV-V since the chording does not require dealing with black keys, etc. However, C can sound rather bland given that the tonality of the flat keys is missing.

Often different keys (and the related chords) can create different "feeling" which can dictate a direction of a melody, etc.

I am self taught on keys (although I later took some theory lessons, etc.). I too started in the esay keys such as C & G. What worked for me was some fundamental things such as:

1. Learn 3 and 4 chord progressions in each key. Once you can quickly figure out the I-IV-V-vi in each key, the rest can come easier
2. Learn the circle of 5ths - it make step 1 so much easier
3. Learning scales in each key - in particular the "main" scales such as major scale, the pentatonic, and the minor blues scales - with those you can vamp out some lead riffs for almost any genre.

thanx for the reply! actually right now i am going through all the pentascales and cadences for all the major keys. i know the basics of the circle of fifths, but i havent really got into it too deep yet.