Would NT5's work for vocals?

Astriaal

hi, im about to buy either a rode NT1a or an NT5 set. it will be the 1st condenser purchase ive made and i need a lot of versatility. i will be recording everything from vocals, violins, acoustic guitars, piano. would i be better off saving a bit more until i can afford two NT1a's? at the moment the vocals is the only thing stopping me from bying the NT5's. any opinions would be welcome. thanks.

thanks for the reply but could you please explain in a bit more detail why the NT5's wouldnt sound very good on vocals? the nt5's have a pretty flat response so wouldnt i be able to use an eq to make them sound good? as you can no doubt tell im still fairly new to all this...

If it worked like that, we'd all just be buying those $20 Behringer measurement microphones and EQing to taste.

There's much more to microphone character than what an EQ chart tells you. Go down to the local store and hear for yourself.

And read everything here: http://www.hr-faq.org/

Reactions: krs
In general, small diaphragm pencil mics, unless they have a fair amount of color,and are fairly dark, are pretty useless as vocal mics. The low mass of the diaphragm, which responds so well to the fast transients of instruments, especially percussion, tends to cause the microphone to reveal every annoying detail in a vocalist- lip smacking, wavering, breath noise, and the sloshing sound of a wet tongue, phlegm, the whole nine yards. They are also very prone to popping. Now here, I'm referring to close mic'ing. At a distance, these issues are minimized, and small diaphragm mics are fine for ensemble or choral work, in fact, desirable. Now I've got a pair of Neumann KM184's, which are what those Rode's wish they were, and the last thing on earth I would do is sing into one of them.