Windows 2KPro with Sonor

P. Glaser

Hi to All:

This is my first post to this BB. I have been reading it for several weeks now and some of you appear to be very knowledgeable.

I am am old Cakewalk user from the Dos days and will be venturing into the realm of DA shortly with Sonor. My questions center around the OS.

I have a AMD 1Gig Thunderbird with 512mg pc133 ram on an ASUS MB. SB Live, Plextor CD-RW, 3 WD drives (30gig, 40gig & 80gig) and Win2k Pro OS (SP2).

My wife and I run an architectural design and drafting company so my WS is set up to run cadd programs (graphics). As I can't afford another machine at this time I want to set this one up to also run my music programs. (Finally the questions)

Would I be better off to dual boot Win2k or is it possible to set up another user profile for a "bare bones" DAW? I have had some experience with dual booting (Win ME and Win2k) and it did create some problems.

I have read that dual booting with 2 versions of Win2k is a lot less problematic. However, if it were possible to simply set up another user profile for my music programs, this would appear to be an easier solution. Obviously I can't have a setup which compromises the proformance of my Cadd programs (income and all that).

I have enough drives and partitions to keep my files on a seperate drive and could add an additional drive if necessary.

I would appreciate any comments and or sugestions which you may have. I do appologize for rambling on!

TIA :)
Paul

Welcome to the forum!

If I were you, I would consider having one of your HD dedicated to storing cakewalk/music files only and making the machine dual boot, with a minimum software/hardware config, only for music. You would of course need to include your CD-RW on that hardware profile.

Either would work. You can setup hardware profiles in w2k so that when you boot, you only the devices you specify.