Why won't my cheap guitar stay in tune?

IloveJesus

I've been playing for years, so I'm not a newbie on playing.

But I know nothing about tech specifications on guitars. I usually play acoustic, but bought a cheapo 200 dollar electric Epiphone.

The thing falls out of tune if I simply set it down or lean it against the wall. Even when the strings are in tune, the intonation is off, so that a strummed chord is out of tune.

I bought it at Guitar center (no discredit to them. I love that store because they let me do anything I want--at least the branch near me).

Should I ask them to set it up for me? Will they for free or want to charge me?

If I'm going to take the time to have a technician work on it, then I might as well scrap it and buy a real guitar.

I just use it for recording at home, and mostly hard rock with powerchords, but still, it sounds like crap. I have to tune it and nurse it through the songs, never setting it down for fear it drops out of tune.

Any simple tricks I can do in an hour or so to shure it up?

It's a bolt-on. Looks like the one Billy something-or-other from Greenday plays. One volume, one tone, one three-way switch.

Maybe a simple tuner upgrade can help.

If your intonation is out, a guitar tech can fix that, and you could probably learn pretty quick how to intonate yourself.

Also, you may want to consider having a tech look at it anyways. A lot of the lower priced guitars are not set up at the factory where they're assembled. Even if they were, they're put into boxes then shipped from China or Korea where they probably are subjected to major climate changes (cold airplane cargo areas, or shipping containers on a boat?) before they get to the store shelf. A good setup and intonation adjustment may make all the difference.

If your playing style is hard (hard strumming/picking) it might help to step up a notch (or two or three if you use 8's or 9's) to heavier strings. Of course, this will almost certainly require another setup.