why/when to color?

artCROSS

I'm still a newb at this, but i'm always trying to learn, so here's my next question:

Why do you want a mic to have "color", and when would you want to use it?

I've heard that many people consider this color to be nothing more then hi freq distortion. Anyways, I record mostly rock. Where would I use this color? guitar amp? vocals? The reason I bring this up now is b/c i'm considering upgrading to a "real pre". Ditching my art tube mp. I'm looking to spend $800, but can probably go up to $1000. Looking for a dual channel. Originally, I just wanted 2 really clean channels, but with all this talk of color, I don't know anymore. Also, I want something that can fit in a studio that charges $35/hr (eventually want to start one, but don't want to have to upgrade everything I own to do it). Currently, using firepod preamps for everything, so I want an upgrade from that.

So basically, would record drums w/ the firepod, OH w/ the new preamp, overdubs (guitars, bass, vocals) w/ the new preamp, acoustic guitar w/ the new pre. Thanks for any suggestions.

All "color" means is that a piece of gear imparts something to the sound when used.

In the case of a mic pre, it just means that something is imparted other than just amplifying what's coming out of the mic. This sometimes (but not always) means some sort of distortion / harmonics, which could take the form of high frequency distortion, but could also take the form of low freq distortion, midband, or even broadband for that matter.

Other than that, there's really only two other ways that mic pres will affect the signal, usually; either the frequency response is altered (like you would with an EQ), or the slew rate (speed/responsiveness) is slowed down to the point that the detail and/or imaging is blurred or softened. Particularly on transients.