Which uni course is best for audio engineering?

vomortis

I've decided to pursue a career in audio engineering, and would like to eventually work in recording studios, television companys or similar.

Has anyone on this board been to uni to study in this area? I've been working in I.T. for two years since I left college, so I have no knowledge of good universites or even what course to look for.

Has anyone got some examples of good universities or courses? I live in Guernsey in the UK, btw.

Thanks - any advice is much appreciated

Oh thanx god, I'm sooooooo glad to write this:

never, NEVER think about an audio "school" called MUSITECHNIC. Your lucky, it's really far from you, it's in Montreal hehe.

Wanna know why? This damn school convinced me that they were the best, that they will find me a job in a huge studio, etc,etc,etc.

Wanna know how much it cost me? About 24,000$ CAD. Isn it cool? I still have pay 400$/month for about 5 years.

How much I would have paid for this? I wouldnt have any regrets if it has cost me 2000$. NOT 15 000$ + 3000$ + 4000$.

DAMN!!! I hate these stupid f$*ing f"%*ers. And, yes, everybody who get out of there hate them.

When you get in, you appreciate it for...lets say the 1st month. then, you start to see it sucks, BUT, your damn first 5 000 or 8 000$ are already paid, so, you stay there.

DAMN! I've done this in 1996...I'll regret it all my life. I end up with excellent results!

fuck them damn it! FU*K THEM!!!!!

SO BE CAREFULL dude, BE VERY CAREFUL!!

this school still exist, they are still screwing every students, and they are even a few grand more expensive!

anyone ever hear anything good or bad from Audio Institute of America? If i remember correctly, they're out of the S.F. area in Cali.

I'm doing a Certifcate 4 which is a diploma in the USA at SAE. I'm doing it in here in Brisbane Australia.

I don't know what the SAE schools are like in the USA but the one I'm at is very friendly and informative.