Which program is best for me?

demto

Can anyone out there help , I would greatly appreciate any recommendations or advice you can give.

I am an amateur home recordist. I just record myself playing guitar and
'singing' .....if thats what you call the noise I make. Then perhaps add a double bass track etc. Maximum 8 tracks.

Up to now I have been recording using a Fostex recorder. What I would like to do now is forget the Fostex and record directly onto the computer.

My interface into the computer is a Terratec DMX6 fire. This is a sound card in the computer and a seperate 'control panel' on the front of the computer which has connections for analogue in/outs, and coax and optical digital in/outs and Midi. It has 2 channels and can work up to 24 bit 96khz. There is also a seperate high gain mic input if needed.

With the Terratec came a bundled ' stripped down' version of Wavelab which
I use to transfer my recordings into the computer. Wavelab is 2 track.

I'm only mentioning all this so you have some idea where I am at the moment.

Is there a SIMPLE TO UNDERSTAND AND USE 8 track recorder/mixer program
that would enable me to record directly into the computer. If it had a decent Compressor, Reverb and some means of varying the volume of individual tracks in the program that would be great but I am not wanting hundreds of 'effects' and frills. I am totally not interested in Midi, dont want to make add sound to videos. Dont want to manipulate the original recording to the enth degree. Etc.

What I would like to do is make a recording of a maximum of 8 tracks, line them up so the all start together, adjust individual tracks a bit, perhaps add
reverb and adjust volume on some tracks and then mix down to 2 track stereo and store it as a WAV file at 24 bit.