Which presonus to buy?

hotwired99

I am an experienced guitarist but complete newbie in the recording realm. I'm in the market for my first computer recording interface. My very experienced friend strongly advises the presonus and I trust his advice. I'm trying to decide between 3, however. They all look similar but I want to be sure I'm getting the best choice. I'm not sure what more to say except that my problem is that I really don't know the differences among the 3. Perhaps someone can help? They are compared in the link below, but the models are: Audiobox USB ($99), 22VSL ($175), iTwo ($159)

I am fine with two inputs, and will only be doing my own guitar and vocals, at least to start.

Comparison of 3 PreSonus Audiobox choices

I'm in the same boat as you, with similar background, but a few months down the line.

My experience is with a PreSonus AudioBox iTwo and I'm very happy with it. You seem to have done your research, so I'll just give you my reasons for the choice.

- I didn't want to spend 22VSL money in the first place, so I didn't look at it.
- The AudioBox USB can't connect to iOS devices directly, the iTwo can.
- The AudioBox USB only supports direct plugins of guitar-level instruments on one channel. The iTwo can do this on both. I have a stereo instrument - a Chapman Stick which I cannot play yet!
- I have a Mac and an iPad and an iPhone. Practice sessions can be captured on the phone or tablet. The only downside to using the iTwo with an iPad or iPhone is the device doesn't get charged whilst you're using it - the charger for your device is being used to power the iTwo... My iPad runs for 8-9 hours on a full charge. I often use Multitrack DAW or GarageBand to record stereo/mono practice sessions or jams and then port the WAV files to Logic later.

Have fun with whatever you choose to go with!

Cheers, Norman