Which mics to buy?

zackformula

Hey everyone, I'm new to recording and am looking for some good mics. Any recommendations will be appreciated. I am looking for:

Good vocal mic ($200 - $300)

Kick drum mic ($200 max) (maybe AKG D112?)

Snare drum mic ($100 max) (maybe Shure 57?)

2 matched condensers for overheads and acoustic guitar (not sure, $300-$500 for pair)

Thanks for any help.

I'm no expert....

I just bought (for the kick) a Shure beta 52...before this I was using a 57 (even tried a 58) and I can tell you I'm happy w/ my investment...I've only heard good things about the 112 as well

as for everything else...I use 57's on toms and snare...I can't comment on this because I only used the 57's (tried my 58's and they sucked....)and nothing else...

I enjoy is playing w/ the position of the mics and getting rid of "rings" and other unwanted noise the drum makes...(and drinking beer @ the same time...) My drummer enjoys tweaking the mic's as well as drinking...I have another buddy who plays the drums and he's just like "throw the mics up and lets go" ....no patience....I think you gotto have patience (and cold beer)

I'm in the market for new OH's as well...After reading on these forums I heard the Rode NT5's are quite common....(w/ good feedback)...hopefully you'll get some other feedback....

good luck

zackformula said:
Hey everyone, I'm new to recording and am looking for some good mics. Any recommendations will be appreciated. I am looking for:

Good vocal mic ($200 - $300)

I like Rode Large Diaphragms. I have the NT1 and enjoy it. If you can score the NTK, go fer it.

Originally posted by zackformula Kick drum mic ($200 max) (maybe AKG D112?)[/B]

I have and dig the D112. Can be had for under $200. go on ebay!

Originally posted by zackformula Snare drum mic ($100 max) (maybe Shure 57?)[/B]

57 would be fine but you can also hunt for a cheapie Sennheiser 421.