which computer,,how much ram?and so forth and what not

mojovoodoo

i know nothing of computers other than what i do at my job,and what i am slowly learning,i am not claiming complete ignorance,yet i would l;ike to start building a studio computer,i have several suggestions from different people,such as how much memory,how much gigabytes,but none from any seasoned computer engineers(is this even an expression,or a faux pas?)i have so many standard questions,for i am a beginner at the computer recording ,though i have done it at friend's house,but all my digital experience comes from owning the boss br-8,i snagged one once it came out and have spent several hundred hours(so it feels anyway)down time on this machine,i have taught myself the benefits from midi sequencing,mainly becuse i don't have a drum kit,and i do like things to have meter,blah blah,aaa-aanywayyy,i will buy all the necessaries with my 2000 tax return cashand i would like to have under$2000 budget,like,does brand name make a differece?or just any computer that has mac?or windows,i know that the plug ins make all the difference,i want something closest to the hot analog 2 inch tape sound(is that a realistic expectation?)

Expecting 2" tape sound out of computer is sadly, not a possiblity.

For under 2K you could get yourself a decent system. What soundcards have you looked at, how tracks to you need to record at one time? What equipment do you currently own, do you need a mixer or a soundcard with built-in preamps etc?

Can probably provide some more feedback with this info.

Generally:

-Mainboards based on the Intel 440BX chipset are a proven, stable product. The I815 does look not too bad though.

-7200RPM drives, 2 of them - one for your operating system, and one just for audio data.

-128MB SDRAM is a good amount.

-Celerons are popular, as is overclocking. I'll go against the grain here though. Get a PIII 800+ and be done with it. This will still fit into your <2K budget.