Which audio interface for Sonar 5?

G. Simon

Hi - I'm new to digital multitracking, I'm planning a new PC-based home studio, and I'd like to go with Sonar 5 as my software.

I understand that not all interfaces mate well with all recording software. Two that I've noticed are the M-Audio 1010 and the Presonus Firepod. Do you think one of these would be a good fit for Sonar 5? Or perhaps a different one altogether?

Thanks!

Can't comment on the Presonus, but I've used the Delta 1010 with Cakewalk products for 5 or 6 years with no issues whatsoever. Fine product, IMO.

I believe there is a list on the Cakewalk web site of compatible sound cards.

I have been using the Firepod for a year with Sonar 4 and now Sonar5PE. It is a good unit. Unfortunately, mine died last week and was shipped off to Presounus today. Since I already know how this one works, I decided to try something different. I researched and read till the cows came home for the last four or five days. I didn't want to spend $1500 for the RME Fireface 800 and am PC based, so MOTU is not my first choice. I ordered a new MAckie onyx400 today. I paid exactly the same for it as I paid for my Firepod. The reason I went with Mackie is they have tremendous customer support. I've owned an 8bus, and still have a 1642VLZ. They have always been there if I needed them... plus they have a very active forum.

I use a Tacam 1082 board. Works great. Has spcial inputs for instruments and Phantom power for vocals. (Not that i got that far yet) About $750.

Another confirmed Delta 1010lt compatibility-deal thing. M-Audio and Cakewalk seem to integrate fairly well.

most any will work for sonar. the only software that requires specific hardware is protools in which you have to have an interface designed for protools

the 1010 LT is amazing, i got it for 180 and it sounds almost as good as a friend of mine's MOTU