Where do I go from here?

mikeyc222

I want to start my own home/project studio. I'm using a PC based system w/ Cakewalk, Cubase, and a few others. I have a Lexicon Core 2 sound card, and a few decent mics. My question is, where do I go from here? Some people tell that the first thing I need to get is good mixer, but I don't really see the point starting out because all the software I have comes with virtual mixers, and once I record the music on my PC, I can do all mastering and CD burning on it. I'm thinking about getting some nice studio monitors, but since I'm new to this I thought I would ask people who have been around for awhile. Any help would be much appreciated.

Without a mixer...

You will need a mic preamp to raise the mic signal level to be strong enough to go into the LINE IN on your soundcard.

These can range from $100 to $X depending on quality. Look at the price on a Neve preamp and you'll see...

Presonus and ART make some decent lower end models...

You will also need some good reference monitors and there are many choices there...

Make sure you look around and search the board before you commit to a set approach (PC vs mixer)...

...there are pros and cons to each.

zip >>

You are absolutely correct - get monitors! I played around for ages using PC speakers and couldn't produce anything decent. I bought a pair of active monitors and suddenly I could hear what was actually there without distortion. The difference was so great I went back and remixed everything I had ever done!

Good luck!

Mark

Agree but...

What if he meets a buddy who plays killer drums...??

...to track 6 to 10 (or more) drum mics one will need a mixer. I decided to go without one for now.

But since I have several friends who are REALLY good drummers I will eventually buy one...

choices choices choices... :)

couple of reasons for a mixer: