When to EQ / Add Effects

Spikeh

I've been recording for a few years now, and something's just popped in to my head... maybe I'm doing it all wrong? Although I know there's no right or wrong way to do things in the recording / mixing / mastering world, I'm sure there are "better" ways!

I currently record with some decent mics, in to a crappy Behringer MX8000 desk, that then goes straight in to an M-Audio Delta 1010. That's changing next week as I've purchased an RME HDSP9652 and 2 Presonus Digimas FS's, just in case you haven't seen my 5 million other posts with the same statement in it ;P

I always EQ on the desk to get a sound for the instrument / mix that sounds better than the raw sound. I sometimes run things through a pre-amp / compressor, but usually only vocals.

Now, I'm thinking, would it be better to record with a flat EQ, no gating or compression, then add it afterwards? I know this isn't the case for vocals (it always sounds better with compression on them), but as for drums and guitar, surely if I recorded them flat, it gives me MUCH more flexibility when I come to mixing? That way the recording can be done a lot quicker, and I just need to spend time getting the mixing right?

Or am I completely wrong with this assumption? The reason I'm asking is with the new sound card and AD/DA interfaces, I have the option to go straight in to the Digimax's XLR inputs and use their preamps, which I can guarantee will be better than the Behringers? It also cuts out a whole mixing desk (including the horrible channel / talkback bleed I get from it, and noise) and another 3 meters of TRS multi-core (from the direct outs of the desk to the sound cards).