what will do the job??

mr. produca

i am having a hard time narrowed down a list of mics for the place.as you guys probably already know my genre is hip hop and r&b(which does have some singing)lot a people in that genre.im not a pro so i really dont know what will do me good.im mostly recording vocals possibly acoustic guitar,electric guitar and maybe drums(that sounds like everything :D ).i just need some guidence.tell me your opinions..i havent really set a budget but it wont be to crazy :D 3500 is probably the highest

Since hip hop and RnB typically use mostly fake instruments, you are probably better off investing in some good samplers. The main mic you want to spend your money on should be a vocal mic.

The u87 is the industry standard, but there are plenty of others that are excellent as well.

You want to pick up an SM57 as well because it works on snare drums, guitar cabinets and just about everything else.

I have the capabilities of miking my cabinets, but for tight rhythm, I love the sound I get from my Pod XT pro. You can even change the sounds after you record them which is awesome (including the distortion, cabinet types etc)

Those 3 things together would run you about

u87 - ($1700 new)
SM57 ($80 new) ---- $2500
Pod XT pro ($700 new)

For drums I would suggest getting a great kick drum mic such as the d112 or the shure beta (52) They are both about $200

Then all you need are small diaphragm condensors (SDC) mics. You can pick up a pair of Studio Projects C4 for about $320 new. They are awesome and can act as drum overheads, or can mic acoustic guitar in stereo.

Bass guitar and electric acoustic can both go direct into your soundcard, or into the pod. That would cover everything for you.

a slightly cheaper setup, would be;

to mxl 603`s as overheads, a small amount of sm 57`s to cover guitar cabs and drums, a b52 on the kick, + a sm58 is also a very handy mic.
for vox; mxl v67g, and SP b1.

this wouldent be to expensive I think.