What to upgrade first to make biggest improvement?

dwkman0117

I am new to computer based recording.
I have been a drummer/musician for many years.
Here is a list of the equipment I am using currently using to record some tunes by myself.
I would like to replace/upgrade many of what I have. Drum mics especially!
What would you suggest would be the best piece of the pie to upgrade first to make the quickest improvement in my sound?

Dell machine
Cakewalk Home Studio 2002 recording SW
SoundBlaster card
Behringer Eurorack UB1202 Mixer
Line 6 Pod2 – for guitar and bass recording – recent upgrade
Cheap Nady mics – 3(used for vocals and drums)
Acoustic drums
Samick Electric guitar and bass

Here is a link to 2 of the covers I recorded so that you can here where I am at. The pod2 wasn't used for the guitar/bass on these tracks.

http://www.swtestingsolutions.com/music/music_download_page.htm

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

If you are a drummer and want to get your kit sounding better you're going to need something other than those cheap nadys...
I would go with some audix (d-1, d-2, d-5, d-6)/akg (d-22, d-112) mics or sm57's for right now if you dont want to spend too too much.
Also consider upgrading your sound card...

Yes - I would like to emprove the drums - I believe the guitar and bass will sound good - they are direct and through the pod.
Any thoughts on the CAD microphone packages for drums?

Soundcard, Mixer, Software. If you are the registered owner of the Cakewalk HS you can upgrade to Homestudio 4 XL for like $55.00. I started out with 2XL and made the upgrade and it was probably the best upgrade I've made yet.

If you have an open PCI slot on your dell, upgrade the soundcard to an M-audio Delta 1010

I too started with a Behringer board and upgraded to a Yamaha MG series board, that upgrade was phenominal as well.

Creamyapples1 said: