What to listen for from reference monitors?

Drakaland

I'm fairly new to the entire recording and mixing process. Been slogging through it for about 7-8 months now. I'm using Tascam VLX5 reference monitors.

I know referencing and mixing is a subjective process, but here's my dilema. Our current mixes sound very good to my ear on the Tascams. Very rich, full and warm. It puts a smile on my face. I'm not suggesting it's perfect, I'm sure one with experience would find flaws, or let me know I'm going about it completely wrong, which is the topic of my question(s). I've started listening to professionally recorded and mastered CD's/MP3's on the tascams, and what I've noticed is that these songs sound "lo-fi," for lack of a better word, compared to what I'm working on. Here are some examples.

u2 War, U2 October, Police Greatest Hits, Radiohead's In Rainbows, Coldplay. In all cases, the songs on these albums sound very compressed, loud and seem to contain oodles of high end on the Tascams, unlike what I hear on a coloured stereo system. On the Tascams the bass is there with this pro material, but to my ear, it seems as though the deep bass end of the bass is missing, whereas in my stuff it's very present and full bodied. For instance, rifling through the Police album I hear Sting's bass and the attack in the mixes, but no low end rumble I'd hear on my home speakers, if that makes sense.

I assume I'm creating and mixing on my reference monitors incorrectly, trying to reproduce what I would normally hear from a coloured home stereo system, instead of trying to make the stuff sound more like the reference material played through the monitors? Is this correct?

I'm assuming that if I continue in this fashion, my stuff will not reproduce accurately on a low end home stereo system, containing frequencies a low end system cannot reproduce?

In sum, should I: