What stage do you start writing lyrics?

ryanwoollerton

I make house music and I want to begin adding vocals.

Now then, I have had no experience with incorporating vocals into my music so I would love some help.

Now then I don't know if there is a difference when writing lyrics for house music as opposed to rock for example?

Do most people go about writing lyrics after they have written the backing track? Or do you build the rhythm section first and maybe add bassline and then write some lyrics?

How do some of you guys go about this process?

As people respond to your post, you will notice that there is no one way of doing things. Some people write before, some after, some during.

My suggestion is to write whenever you have a burst of inspiration, whether you have backing waiting or not . . . because inspiration comes so infrequently you grab it when you can.

It is very rare for me to write lyrics until I've got a melody to write them to. I don't need to have a whole song, in fact I don't even need to have a whole verse. But I do need at least a bit of a melody. Occasionally a good phrase will pop into my mind - and always have a pencil and paper nearby! - but I don't think that I've ever just sat down and written out a few stanzas of words without any idea of where I was going melodically.

Often I will have a few ideas for lyrics, and a basic melody, and then I can work off that - expanding the melody, trying out different note choices. I usually have fair idea of where I want syllables to fall - I find this helpful for getting the rhythm of the lyrics to work with the music. Sometimes I will know that I want to hear a particular vowel sound at a certain point of the line. Then I've got to go hunting for that word that has the right amount of syllables, the right vowel sound, and the right meaning :)

That actually makes it sound more difficult than it is, though.