What now!?!?

Cody0103

I purchased a Boss Micro Br not too long ago. it was $180 so why not.. And i dont now what to upgrade to what does one buy to make a studio. I have fairly good mics. Plenty of istruments, plenty of room. What do i get to start recording like a pro. (i dont have a computer that i can download software on)

What do i get to start recording like a pro. (i dont have a computer that i can download software on)

Well then, a computer would be a start!

That, and a solid background on recording processes, equipment and techniques. That might sound flippant, but it's also what's needed.

I second the computer.

I'm in process of getting my brother out of the Boss BR-1600 and on to a computer. Specifically, Reaper, which is a fast and easy to use, nicely priced DAW software. Just google 'reaper'.

What will i need once or if i get this. will i need other equipment to run it. or Would you recomend anything els to start making a good recording station? (im new to recording so i basicaly know nothing about recording, exept for what iv learned from the micro br)

Well, advice is free and plentiful here.... so 100 people could give you 100 different answers... but here's my opinion...

1. Use the hell out of what you have. What every your doing know, whatever your using now, keep doing that until your skills, and ears outgrow it.

2. You'll need a pretty good computer to record and mix 16, 24, 32 tracks, and considering reverb plug-ins, delays. etc.

3. You need an 'audio interface' to get into your computer via USB, Firewire, or PCI card. These are getting better and better, and coming down in price all the time. I highly suggest this:

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/ProFire2626.html

or

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/FastTrackUltra8R.html .

4. You'll need a DAW software. Reaper is great, but so are many others. (Cubase, Sonar, Ableton).