What is wrong with my mix ???

jpb123

Hello,
I'm a pro muso not a pro recordist!! I have recently moved my gear to a different area in the house and ever since have had no joy with anything I've recorded !!

If anybody with recording experience could listen to my last recording and tell me ( In there honest opinion ) where I am going wrong.
It's unmastered and not totally finished.....I gave up when I couldn't get it right !! HaHa

Please be gentle on me and my mrs !

JohnView attachment Finished 16bit.mp3

First, love the song from Don McLean.

My only response would be maybe the low thumbs a tad much, maybe a roll off below 100 (roll off, not a cut), maybe take a little off the top on the vocals, above the 10K (once again just a mild roll off), the vocals could be lowered a few notches just to blend a bit better.

All of the above is opinion as I thought the sample sounded rather good. I think you are so close on this one, a few others on the board who really know their stuff can guide you much better.

Over all, I thought it was pretty damn good. Tell the Mrs she sings very well. Nice lounge singing.

This may be a personal taste thing but I'd like to hear a little more of the guitar (just a touch). I agree on the high end part (don't know that it's 10k, but I'll trust DM on that one).

I am also at work listening on crappy ear buds not at home with the monitors so judgement could be off.

I liked it a lot. Beautiful vocal performance. It's a nice warm sounding recording and I didn't hear anything out of whack. If I had to nitpick I would say to lower the level on the guitar solo a tad. Is has more volume and punch that her vocal

This sounds awesome! The singers voice is gold.

Here is my little suggestion: I felt the vocals sounded very warm, and the backing track a bit bright. So I felt it wasn't blending very well.

Excellent job!

Well, it's like they say (or maybe they don't)...