What is the secret of mastering&mixing? Please help.

FreddyG

Hi there,
I am a musician trying to understand the secret of mastering&mixing. I would like to show you a few of my works, maybe anyone could be so kind to help me how to improve their sound. Thank you so much.
Sincerely,
FreddyG

Carnige Hall is that way...

Fred,

The secret to engineering is the same as the secret to musicianship.

Practice.

:)

That is probably the mst useful tip you'll get. But if your looking for more, you'd probably be best starting of with an explanation of what tools you have to work with (music style, microphones, recording gear, etc.)

G.

All the secrets to mastering and mixing are in Sonusman's article. Very worth your time, Ed, I mean, random new member.

If we told you it wouldn't be a secret anymore :)

I don't get this "secret" stuff, it's marketing hype.

There are no secrets, it's as SouthSIDE Glen wrote, practice, skill, a good ear, and some decent gear and musicians.

Read as much as you can in mags like Mix, and all the books you can. Sit in on a few sessions with some pros. Then rinse, lather, and repeat.

masteringhouse said:
practice, skill, a good ear, and some decent gear and musicians.
House,

Thanks for bringing up the decent musicians. That's a very important point that now seems as good a time as any to amp...

Without musicians, we would not be here. Whithout decent musicians, we would not want to be here ;)

Great musicians/performances make great recordings, Lousy musicians/performances make lousy recordings. To paraphrase, "It's the content, stupid."

Job #1, Fred, is to not hit the record button until you are ready to give a performance that is worth sticking to disc. Practice until you can do it in you sleep.

Job #2 is exactly what Massive Master's sig says.

Job #3 is to then, and only then, hit the record button.

If you follow jobs 1-3, the rest will come a lot easier.

G.