What aren't I doing wrong?

Monkey Allen

Fork and spoon operator
Dudes, I've been recording on and off for let's say 3 or 4 years now. In truth I've been dabbling since around 2005 or so...but only in the last few years with a room to do it in and some decent gear. I'm a home hobby dude...guitar player...mediocre...not a good singer, especially when the mic is on and the REC light is on. I use vst drums and play everything else. I'm fully prepared to wear it that:

a) I'm not a good musician
b) I'm not a good song writer or arranger
c) my performances are mediocre
d) I'm inexperienced (but man, I've done a lot of mixes)
e) my monitoring situation MIGHT be my biggest problem

My problem is that my mixes suck like a vortex of sh1t like 49 times out of 50. I have managed to jag a couple of, to me, and others have said, pretty ok mixes. But most of them suck.

I hear real music and it's effortlessly smooth and balanced. It blends seamlessly with itself and doesn't have a shred out of place...there's no crazy overtones or boom or harshness or deficiency. It's natural and sounds just like it should sound.

Then there's my stuff which pretty much always sounds great...in my Senn 600 headphones and Yamaha HS8 speaks. I can mix a great sound in those cans and on those speakers. But when I hear my stuff elsewhere, as thousands of people have said, and as is a well known problem...it...just...sucks.

What appeared to be well balanced and well crafted is revealed to be...a vortex of poo.