weighted but not 88 keys?

andydeedpoll

i do love smilies...
hi there,

has anyone got any suggestions for a midi contoller with weighted keys but not necessarily 88 keys? i'm a pianist at heart, but my new band won't see any use for a full 88 key keyboard.

is there such a thing as a 61 key weighted midi keyboard? i really don't feel very comfortable on my CME UF5 'cept for synths/pads really, and piano and organ sounds are going to be quite common. so yeah, weighted keys on a shorter keyboard would be great.

any ideas?

Andrew.

hi there,

has anyone got any suggestions for a midi contoller with weighted keys but not necessarily 88 keys? i'm a pianist at heart, but my new band won't see any use for a full 88 key keyboard.

is there such a thing as a 61 key weighted midi keyboard? i really don't feel very comfortable on my CME UF5 'cept for synths/pads really, and piano and organ sounds are going to be quite common. so yeah, weighted keys on a shorter keyboard would be great.

any ideas?

Andrew.

semi-weighted http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Axiom61-main.html

i have the mini version of this and it feels pretty good.

I have the Axiom 49 and experience with the CME controllers.

The Axioms have actual piano keys, that are lighter than piano keys, but still react in somewhat the same way. I feel the CME ones are more like organ keys with added tention. I like the Axiom a lot more.

I have the Axiom 49 and experience with the CME controllers.

The Axioms have actual piano keys, that are lighter than piano keys, but still react in somewhat the same way. I feel the CME ones are more like organ keys with added tention. I like the Axiom a lot more.

excellent, thanks for that :) really helpful. i'll put a bit of time into hunting one down then, and trying it out!

Andrew.

I"m not sure I know of a single 61 or 76 note keyboard with fully weighted keys. All I've seen are semi-weighted. Which to me, as a pianist, seems very light and unweighted.