WaY hAY!! Roland Space Echos ahoy!

gentlejohn

I am VERY excited! I am very soon to be the temporary owner of a mid 70's era ROLAND 'Space Echo' RE-201 AND a late 70's (I believe) RE-501 model! Their owner is going off on safari or something and has entrusted both units to me whilst he's away as he feels they'll 'bring something' to my existing dry mixes. What that is exactly I don't know yet - I won't get my mits on them until the w/e! I'm definitely keen to start experimenting with these units - can't wait in fact! I'll be using them in tandem with my Tascam 388 - probably in the Effects Loop .... I dunno?! I have no prior experience with using anything like this. Anybody want to shed some light, share some thoughts/advice/tips on either of these models? Maybe I need to get out more but I'm stupidly excited about this!!!:thumbs up:

They are both tape delay units, and with spring reverbs.

You can use them the same way you would any other delay...so it really depends on the application AFA what type of delay settings you choose. The reverb can also be usable, but it's not much different than a typical guitar amp spring reverb, but using both in combination, and you can come up with a variety of ambiance effects, or you can get extreme and create all kinds of "space" effects.....it really comes down to the music and your intent.
They may not work on everything, but as long as you don't opt for extreme/weird delay FX, you can usually work them into a lot of things.

Just spend some time playing around with the settings and you will see what is possible.

Enjoy! :thumbs up:

Cheers Miroslav!