Wav editor?

savageblues

What kind of software do I need to break up a single track CD recording into multiple tracks? I have a live recording, and I want it to play continuously but I also want to be able to number each song so you can advance with the track button on your CD player.

(I'm searching my Korg D1600 manual to determine an easy way to do this rather than cutting it all up into separate tracks and burning each individually)

I havent used any software except Sonic record now, so Im new to wav. file editing. Is there some freeware that will do this for me?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

You can use any WAV editor to cut a WAV file into pieces and save the pieces seperately; those are very basic features. Just do a net search for "freeware wav editor" and you'll find a handful of choices.

G.

Ok Thanks.

So I do need to cut each song individually and create a separate wav file for each. Then I need to burn these in order again to CD (presumably with NO space in between). Hopefully the CD will then play without interruption between songs?

I'll search for a freeware wav editor. Any suggestions?

savageblues said:
Ok Thanks.

So I do need to cut each song individually and create a separate wav file for each. Then I need to burn these in order again to CD (presumably with NO space in between). Hopefully the CD will then play without interruption between songs?
The "cut and save" process is probably the only way to do it with most freeware editors. And, yes, whatever burner software you're using will burn each file as an individual song that the CD player will play in sequence just like a "real" CD.

There are other ways to do this by "marking regions" in an editor and then "converting the regions to tracks" in the burner software, but the software for doing these kinds of procedures (e.g. Sound Forge, CD Architect, Wavelab) will cost you a few hundred dollars minimum.