Vox AD30VT or POD?

rozsand

Question for ya:

I'm a law student, living in an apartment, so right now my options for recording guitar are gonna be crummy for the next 3 years or so. I can't use a stack anymore (without soundproofing the whole apartment, which is prohibitively expensive), so I'm thinking about picking up either a VOX AD30VT Valvetronix amp or a POD XT. I'd like to at least occasionally mic the VOX, but don't know how it'd sound at low volumes through an SM 57. In any case, I'll probably be stuck recording direct 90% of the time.

So here it is: Which would sound better, recording line from the VOX or the output of the POD? Would the VOX sound okay when mic'ed at *LOW* volume? Which would you buy?

Here we go again...

It's all ""subjective""

Go try them all out, but remember the presets usually suck bad.

As much as I don't care much at all for Behringer, the V-Amps are a good value.

rozsand said:
Question for ya:

I'm a law student, living in an apartment, so right now my options for recording guitar are gonna be crummy for the next 3 years or so. I can't use a stack anymore (without soundproofing the whole apartment, which is prohibitively expensive), so I'm thinking about picking up either a VOX AD30VT Valvetronix amp or a POD XT. I'd like to at least occasionally mic the VOX, but don't know how it'd sound at low volumes through an SM 57. In any case, I'll probably be stuck recording direct 90% of the time.

So here it is: Which would sound better, recording line from the VOX or the output of the POD? Would the VOX sound okay when mic'ed at *LOW* volume? Which would you buy?

I had a POD... sold it.

I got a AD50VT now and I love it!! (the 50 watt version of the AD30VT) The tone of these little Vox amps are incredible. It must be that real tube that gives it a more authentic tube tone than a POD.

Go for the Vox, you won't be disappointed. :)

therage! said:
As much as I don't care much at all for Behringer, the V-Amps are a good value.